Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Mazda > 323/Protegé/Familia/Etude/Allegro
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 09-04-2009, 04:44 AM   #1
Johnny34456789
AF Newbie

Cool I need help with my 95 protege lx.

Hey everyone.
I could really use some advice. I just bought a 95 mazda protege Lx. Within a week the engine light came on. I've taken it to an autozone and also car X and they read my codes. they told me that I had TPS codes pop up and also codes for the egr valve. Now here are the questions.( bear in mind I'm not a mechanic or anything so sry if they are stupid questions.)Anyways.....
1. Is it possible that a faulty TPS is causing the egr valve to read a fault?
2. My car seems to run perfectly fine but when I first start it the RPMS
are around 2000. I usually let it run for a few minutes and it drops back down to around five hundred. Is this harming the car?(what if I reverse while they are at 2000?)
3. I was quoted 650 to fix both the egr valve and the TPS.
will my car be ruined if I wait awhile to replace a faulty egr or TPS?
I basically don't have enough cash to fix both and I need to know If my car is slowly being damaged. This is really stressing me out and any responses will be much appreciated.
Thanks guys.
-Johnny
Johnny34456789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 08:19 PM   #2
growe58
AF Regular

Re: I need help with my 95 protege lx.

I sold my 97 a year ago so I'm going from memory here so take it with a grain of salt.