Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online!
Automotive Forums .com - the leading automotive community online! 
-
Latest | 0 Rplys
Go Back   Automotive Forums .com Car Chat > Oldsmobile > Cutlass Series
Register FAQ Community Arcade Calendar
Cutlass Series Includes Cutlass Ciera, Cutlass Cruiser, Cutlass Calais, Cutlass Supreme, Custom Cruiser, as well as the GM N-Body subforums.
Reply Show Printable Version Show Printable Version | Email this Page Email this Page | Subscription Subscribe to this Thread

Old 01-04-2007, 05:28 AM   #1
jay442
AF Newbie

Question 94 Olds Cutlass Perplexing EGR Problem?!?

Newbie here having an EGR problem that has me stumped

94 Olds Cutlass Supreme SL, 3.1 V6 Code 'M', 58K miles

Out of the blue car lost all power and stalled trying to make it up hill at work. I managed to get the car into the parking lot after numerous stalls/restarts.

Engine idles very rough and I can visibly see and hear exhaust blowing out from under gasket that is actually part of the EGR valve itself - under the standoffs and plate right above base of valve.

I removed the EGR, cleaned and re-installed - same problem. I assumed (?) the valve was bad so I installed new valve/gaskets - still same problem.

I have no Check Engine Light (and of course can't read the codes myself anyway because of the way GM blocked out owners from scanning this year). There is visible black soot on the rear bumper right above the tailpipe that wasn't there before.

Don't have a manual to check for proper voltage at EGR electrical connector.

If I manually advance the throttle from idle while car is running the engine will stutter - stutter increases and worsens as RPM's climb - until the car finally stalls.