Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Import used engine or rebuild?

chembrad
09-29-2004, 08:52 PM
I have a '90 Geo Metro w/ AT that I had a '92 Suzuki G10 1.0L 3 cylinder put in. That lasted me about 80k miles and now my compression is shot.

So I can either drop in another used import or rebuild. I've done just about everything else on this car except engine work.

The last time I had a mechanic pop the engine in to the tune of about $1400...

This time I am going to do it myself and save some money.

I've seen some engines on eBay, but I haven't bought any yet.

Any help or advice that you guys can give me would be appreciated.

RossT
09-29-2004, 11:50 PM
I just got one of those used JDM engines on e-bay.

The engine delivered to my door was $490. Add another $100 for complete gasket kit and waterpump. I will do the swap this weekend and let you know how well it works out. This will be my first attemp, so I am a rookie at this too.

chembrad
09-30-2004, 02:34 AM
I saw a new water pump with gasket on ebay for <$30. Is that the one you got?

RossT
09-30-2004, 04:16 AM
Yep thats the one, I also got the same vendors (partsdinosaur) complete gasket set. It includes 1 cam seal, 2 crank seals, oil pump gasket, rear crank housing gasket, thermostat housing gasket, exhuast manifold gasket, TB intake gasket, back side of water pump coolant tube O ring, head gasket, valve guide seals.

I was not going to do the head gasket, but I have everything stripped down anyway, I might as well do the headgasket.

The company that I bought mine from had the best shipping rates. I was able to get it shipped to my door and not a business for $140. Enine was $350. Not bad.
I told them I had a 91, and they made sure that I got a 4 bolt crank engine that would best match my 91. The JDM engine is a 4 bolt crank from a 92. Some of the newer JDM have a 5 bolt crank.

They give you a long list of stuff that has to be done in order to have the 3 month warrantee go into affect.