Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Turbo bike Carbs

24kilo
07-29-2008, 11:54 AM
How's it going, I'm new to this forum but have been doing some research on setting up a turbo on bike carbs. I've worked on bike about all my adult life but have never turbo'ed one. So this is what's going on, I have a 2.2 Dodge omni that Hopped up some (15 sec 1/4 with the 2.78 gears and an auto trans) and I'm putting bike carbs on it (Cheaper that Dual webbers)CVK36's .All the mods that need to be done to make it N/A are done...But I got to Thinking It would be cool to do a blow through on it. I can get the turbo stuff easy, But don't know how to Convert the carbs over to Turbo. Is there a step by step I can get, Pics would be awsome. Any machining won't be a problem as I'm a machinist be trade. TIA

24kilo

MagicRat
07-29-2008, 02:15 PM
Are you going to have 4 carbs, with each one feeding its own intake port?

Your carbs are of the constant velocity type, with vacuum diaphrams, so its probably best to use a 'blow through' set up where all the carbs are enclosed in a sealed, turbo-pressurized box. You could probably fabricate one out of sheet aluminum pretty easily.
The key here is the intake charge and the air around the carb must both be pressurized in order for the carb to function properly.

If you can, jet the carb richer than stock. It may lean out lots when boosted. Turn the wastegate down and keep the pressure low while listening for detonation. Use an octane booster with the highest pump gas you can find. Use a cold air intake and try to insulate the carb box from engine heat.
Finally, what kind of compression are you running? Are you using a 2.2 engine that originally had a turbo? I believe they were internally stronger and had a lower compression ratio than an N/A unit, so boosted cylinder pressures would be less likely to detonate.

UncleBob
07-29-2008, 02:30 PM