Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Need advice re: replacing seized 2.2l engine - esp. price

carybhall
01-30-2008, 08:29 AM
Thanks in advance for everyone's insight and experience re: this. Short story even shorter: I screwed up and seized the engine in my 2005 Chevy Cavalier 5-speed (2.2l) last night due to lack of oil (I know, I know - no one's kicking me harder than me, beLIEVE me). Car's only got 63K on it, and put a few hundred into it a few months ago to pass inspection here in PA, etc., so I guess I'm looking for a replacement engine now.

Thing is, I have zero idea how much an engine itself and the labor/misc. parts to install costs. Luckily, I work as a driver for an auto parts warehouse and I can get parts cheap, but I still don't want to get rooked price-wise.

Anyone have any thoughts (other than regular oil changes) about any of this, esp. ideas about price ranges? Thanks in advance -- I'm without a car until this gets solved!

1991tercel
01-30-2008, 11:40 AM
if you are taking the car somewhere to get the engine installed it will be between $500-$1000 for labor. look on ebay for engines, might get lucky

Classicrocjunkie
01-30-2008, 07:10 PM
An ecotec engine will run you 300-600 alone. I bought a roll over for 1,000 with 40k miles on the motor and trans. I know what i am doing so motor swaps on these cars isn't hard for me. But if i were you...

www.j-body.org