Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Where should I stop?

Condorman3000
08-12-2007, 02:04 PM
Hey guys. I'm a complete noob when it comes to cars. I have a 2002 cavy with the 2.2 NON-Ecotec. The car is in great condition. Lets just say I like seeing what she'll do at red lights sometimes. It has an auto transmission. What is the highest rpm I should get it to? I dont want to damage the car in any way. Thanks for any help!

JStumpalump150
08-12-2007, 02:13 PM
not to be an ass or anything but if you have to ask you probly shouldnt be doing it.

Lances133
08-12-2007, 02:21 PM
And ummm, there's nothing a 2.2 auto will do at a redlight except slowly creep away lol

2001jettavr6
08-12-2007, 02:26 PM
well dont ever rev an automatic while in neutral if thats what you are doing. and any car can red line and have governer with a fuel cut or or rev limiter just dont hold it there. and if you want to peel out press on the brake then push on the accelerator a bit to get some power. you will feel it want to pull but dont break through the break pressure (test it out) then as you let off the brake floor it and you should peel out a bit nothing great no smoke but some noise if thats what you are looking for

Condorman3000
08-12-2007, 02:30 PM
Haha, thx for the replies guys. I know the 2.2 has nothing performance wise. I was just mainly wondering if it was ok to redline it. :iceslolan

2001jettavr6
08-12-2007, 03:00 PM
never ever really good to redline unless its high performance thats how you throw rods through the engine

Derk_eliso
08-12-2007, 04:57 PM
yeah either power brake or hold the e-brake never neutral drop or you're neutral drop your transmission on the ground, lol.

Lefix
08-12-2007, 06:12 PM