Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

Selective number of active cylinders - fuel economy

nife911
09-26-2005, 07:10 AM
Well, I'm brand new to the group, so I don't know if this topic has been covered before or not. Since it seems somewhat obvious, I assume that it has. Forgive me in advance if that is the case, but my curiosity compels me to ask anyway.

First of all, I am NOT an engineer, but I have had a fair amount of experience in the automotive arena.

Here is the question: With a multi-port fuel injection system, why can't you selectively cut back the number of "active" cylinders, i.e. shut the power off to one or more (depending upon the number of cylinders in the engine) of the injectors during light or almost no load conditions? How much horsepower does it actually take for a Honda Civic (just as an example) to cruise at 55-60 on a four lane? If you cut back to 2-3 cylinders, wouldn't that save fuel? And couldn't you run on 1-2 cylinders at stop at idle?

I know there are a lot of other dynamics in the equation, such as how the EEC would react, the "active" cylinders would have to do comparatively more work, what the O2 sensor would think, etc. I also realize it would induce an imbalance in the engine, but at low or almost no load, the imbalance (vibration) would be minimal.

Since the cylinder would only be pumping air (isn't that what an engine is at the most fundamental level?), it shouldn't be chemically harmful. I also realize that, through mechanical/friction losses, the mileage gain wouldn't exactly be 100%, but it should help at least a LITTLE!

It also seems like it could be automated and customized for more power vs more economy, shut off for reduced traction situations, etc. Between intake vacuum, throttle position and speed, it could be virtually transparent to the driver.

I know Cadillac and maybe others made something on this order back in the 80's, but it used selectable valve engagement, versus selective fuel injectors.