Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

hypoid ???

XWrench3
11-18-2013, 04:54 AM
i have been a mechanic my entire life. most of my education has been learned from the school of hard knocks, though i have been to many new model updates and several specialty tech (one item) schools. i have set up at least a half dozen ring and pinion gears / rear axle rebuilds, all of which were sucessful. but on just completeing one for myself (and trying to teach my kids how to do this) i came across a question, that i did not have an answer for. kids seem to be great at doing that. i know it is important to have enough preload on the pinion bearings. but why? and why so much? the specs for my truck call for 15-20 inch pounds of drag. which seems to be a lot to me.

maxwedge
11-18-2013, 08:54 AM
Obviously the bearings must engage the race sufficiently to handle the load and eliminate any play which would affect backlash and tooth contact. There has to be some tightening spec to achieve this and all pinion and side bearings in the diff require some pre-load. Also after break in and some use they will loosen up so with no pre-load you would now have poorly fitted bearings.

XWrench3
11-18-2013, 02:34 PM