Our Community is 940,000 Strong. Join Us.

MGB Doesn't Start

Kite
10-13-2007, 01:06 AM
I am a newbie and I just bought my first 1980 MGB. I test drove this car 3 times before purchasing it. Everytime there was a little trouble starting it and it ran great. The first time trying to start it on my own, the engine started normally. Then, as I backed out of the driveway I didn't give it enough gas and the engine died. I haven't been able to start it since then. The engine always turns over great and the new spark plugs are firing.
What is the best steps to take in diagnosing the problem / and finding the solution?
Thanks for any advise-

ScottB81
10-13-2007, 07:43 AM
What is the best steps to take in diagnosing the problem / and finding the solution?

I like the way you asked - you didn't ask what the problem was, you asked for help in diagnosis and finding a solution.

I haven't had an MG for long, but the best sources of information by have been the user groups and various websites. The MG-MGB group on Yahoo, and the MGS forum on autox.team.net are two excellent resources. Those are good, along with the many websites of clubs and people with particular interests.

This is an interest that is made for people who are willing to help each other out. Because of that, there is absolutely gigabytes of information out there. I've collected about 3.7GB myself. After that, getting your hands dirty and doing a little exploration helps with familiarity.

Myself, I now have the requisite three MGB's - one to dream about restoring some day, one to drive and keep up my enthusiasm, and one for parts and for experience in how things come apart and go back together again.

I hope this helps

djamnicki
10-13-2007, 08:05 AM
You said the engine turns over so its not a starter prob. Spark plugs fire but at the right time? Check compression (timing gear prob)and fuel pressure/volume.